

BOARD HIGHLIGHTS

October 8, 2019

For Immediate Release

Resignation of Trustee for Fox Creek

With regret, the Board accepted Mr. Ethan Thesen's resignation from the NGPS Board. A motion was made to call a by-election for the Fox Creek ward. Motion carried. By-election information will be posted to the NGPS website and social media platforms.

Student Voice

The Alberta Student Voice conference provides opportunities for high school students to talk with school board trustees about what is important to them in education, what is working well, and what they would like to see changed or enhanced in the education system. The conference also serves as a learning opportunity where students are taught skills that they can take back to their school to influence change.

Two Northern Gateway Public Schools students from Valleyview and Fox Creek will be attending the Student Voice conference this year.

Student Enrolments Increase

NGPS Superintendent of Schools, Kevin Andrea, shared that student enrolments are up slightly across the Division over last year. The increase amounts to approximately 60 additional students attending NGPS schools.

Trustee School Tours

The Board reviewed the 2019-20 school tour schedule. Trustees discussed the importance of school tours as a means to connect with staff, students and school communities. A Motion was made to continue school tours for the 2019-20 school year. Motion carried.

Box 840 4816 – 49 Avenue Whitcourt AB T7S 1N8 <u>www.ngps.ca</u> <u>learn@ngps.ca</u>





Alberta Education Minister, the Honourable Adriana LaGrange, visits NGPS

Minister LaGrange visited Whitecourt on October 7 where she toured and met with students and staff at Percy Baxter School and Hilltop Jr/Sr High School. Students spoke to Minister LaGrange about what they love about their school and what is important to them as students. Following the school tour, NGPS trustees met with the Minister to discuss NGPS challenges, successes and vision for the future.

Your Local Trustee

Alberta Beach, Rich Valley, Darwell		Board Chair Judy Muir P: 780-991-7413 E: judy.muir@ngps.ca
Onoway	g freeter.	Trustee Christine Peck P: 780-691-0772 E: <u>christine.peck@ngps.ca</u>
Darwell, Sangudo	0	Trustee Sherry Jeffreys P: 780-898-0404 E: <u>sherry.jeffreys@ngps.ca</u>
Mayerthorpe		Trustee Diane Hagman P: 780-396-9694 E: <u>diane.hagman@ngps.ca</u>
Whitecourt		Trustee Linda Wigton P: 780-706-4345 E: <u>linda.wigton@ngps.ca</u>
Whitecourt		Board Vice-Chair Barb Maddigan P: 780-262-1013 E: <u>barb.maddigan@ngps.ca</u>
Fox Creek		Vacant
Valleyview Rural		Trustee Anita Portsmouth P: 780-552-4150 E: <u>anita.portsmouth@ngps.ca</u>
Valleyview		Trustee Gerry Steinke P: 780-524-9889 Email: <u>gerry.steinke@ngps.ca</u>

Box 840 4816 – 49 Avenue Whitcourt AB T7S 1N8 <u>www.ngps.ca</u> <u>learn@ngps.ca</u>





Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Board will be held on October 29, 2019 at the Division Office in Whitecourt commencing at 1:00 p.m. Members of the public are welcome to attend. For more information, please call 780-778-2800 or 1-800-262-8674.

Box 840 4816 – 49 Avenue Whitcourt AB T7S 1N8 <u>www.ngps.ca</u> <u>learn@ngps.ca</u>

