

BOARD HIGHLIGHTS – Organizational Meeting

September 1, 2020

For Immediate Release

Election of Board Chair and Vice-Chair for the 2020-21 school year

Congratulations to our 2020-21 Board Chair, Linda Wigton and Vice-Chair Barb Maddigan. Chair Wigton and Vice-Chair Maddigan were elected to their respective positions at the Organizational Meeting of the Board.

Board Committees and Representatives

Additionally, NGPS trustees will serve the Division through committees and provincial representation as follows:

- Policy Committee: Anita Portsmouth, Gerry Steinke, Sherry Jeffreys
- Communications/Staff Liaison Committee: Barb Maddigan, Christine Peck, Sherry Jeffreys
- ATA Negotiations Committee: Barb Maddigan, Diane Hagman, Jim Hailes
- Group Benefits Insurance Plan Committee: Anita Portsmouth, Gerry Steinke
- Advocacy Committee: Barb Maddigan, Christine Peck, Judy Muir Alternate: Anita Portsmouth
- Support/Admin Compensation Committee: Diane Hagman, Judy Muir, Sherry Jeffreys
- Audit Committee: Diane Hagman, Gerry Steinke, Judy Muir
- Joint Board Support Staff Liaison: Barb Maddigan, Christine Peck, Gerry Steinke, Sherry Jeffreys
- Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) Zone 2/3: Jim Hailes
- Public School Boards Association (PSBAA): Christine Peck
- Teachers' Employer Bargaining Association (TEBA): Barb Maddigan
- Yellowhead Regional Library (YRL): Sherry Jeffreys
- Whitecourt Community Association: Barb Maddigan
- Rural Caucus Committee: Diane Hagman

Board Meeting Start Time

The Board moved to change the regular meeting start time from 1:00 pm to 10:00 am. Motion carried. Beginning with the next meeting of the Board on September 22, 2020, all NGPS Board Meetings will commence at 10:00 am at the Division Office in Whitecourt.

Box 840 4816 – 49 Avenue Whitcourt AB T7S 1N8 www.ngps.ca learn@ngps.ca





Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Board will take place on September 1, 2020 commencing at 10:00 a.m. at the Division Office in Whitecourt. Members of the public are welcome to attend virtually https://bit.ly/33xzGnK, or in-person. Please contact Board Secretary Wendy Robertson at the Division Office, 780-778-2800 or 1-800-262-8674, to confirm your attendance so we may accommodate physical distancing. Masks are required.



