Historical Data: Establishment of the NGPS Board of Trustees and Electoral Boundaries

When originally formed in 1995, Northern Gateway Public School Division was an amalgamation of 3 former school jurisdictions, each being assigned trustees and having a student population as follows:

- Lac Ste. Anne County School Division o (Onoway, Alberta Beach, Darwell, Rich Valley, Sangudo, Mayerthorpe and area)
- Whitecourt School Division
- (Whitecourt and area) • East Smoky School Division
 - Ward 3: 3 trustees, 1416 students • (Valleyview, Fox Creek and area)

It was at this time that the 9 member board, representing 8 electoral areas came into effect. The Board is considering implementing a 7 member board across 5 wards with trustees elected within each of the following.

| | Area | 1995 Student Population | Current # of Trustees | 2016 Student population | Proposed # of Trustees |
|--------|--|----------------------------|--------------------------|-------------------------|---------------------------|
| Ward 1 | Onoway, Alberta Beach, Darwell, Rich Valley and area | 1517 | 2 | 1383 | 2 |
| Ward 2 | Sangudo, Mayerthorpe and area | 1234 | 2 | 667 | 1 |
| Ward 3 | Whitecourt and area | 1505 | 2 | 1638 | 2 |
| Ward 4 | Fox Creek and area | 541 | 1 | 398 | 1 |
| Ward 5 | Valleyview and area | 875 | 2 | 864 | 1 |
| | | 5672 | 9 | 4950 | 7 |

- Ward 1: 4 trustees, 2751 students
- Ward 2: 2 trustees, 1505 students